- The Number: 75% on a 180-Question Exam
- What 75% Means in Real Questions
- What SMEI Does Not Publish About Scoring
- Format, Timing, and the Online Proctoring Setup
- How the Three Domains Affect Your Score
- Fees, Application Windows, and the Cost of a Miss
- Building a Margin Above the Line
- After You Pass: Annual Renewal Mechanics
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The SMEI Certified Sales Executive (CSE) exam requires a passing score of 75%.
- The exam has 180 multiple-choice or true/false questions in a 3-hour window, roughly one minute per question.
- SMEI does not publicly disclose a pass rate or percentage weights for the three domains.
- Exam registration is $150, or $125 for Professional and Executive Members; the application fee is $500.
The Number: 75% on a 180-Question Exam
The passing score for the SMEI Certified Sales Executive (CSE) exam is 75%. That is the one scoring figure SMEI's current public materials state plainly, and it is the figure this article is built around. The exam consists of 180 questions, delivered as multiple-choice or true/false items, and candidates have 3 hours to complete it.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, our overview What Is CSE Certification? explains what SMEI's program covers and who it is built for. This article assumes you already know you want the credential and need to understand precisely what the score threshold demands.
What 75% Means in Real Questions
Converting a percentage into a question count is the most useful thing you can do with a passing score, because it tells you how many misses you can afford. Applied to the full 180-question exam:
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total questions | 180 |
| Passing threshold | 75% |
| Correct answers needed (if all 180 are scored) | 135 |
| Maximum misses allowed (if all 180 are scored) | 45 |
| Time available | 3 hours (180 minutes) |
| Average time per question | About 1 minute |
Treat those question counts as a planning estimate rather than a guarantee. SMEI's current materials do not say whether all 180 questions are scored, and unscored questions are not publicly identified. If some items are unscored, the exact number you must answer correctly could differ from 135. The safe approach is to study as though every question counts and to aim well above the line rather than at it.
The format matters as much as the percentage. With multiple-choice and true/false items only, there are no essay responses or performance simulations to earn partial credit. Each item is right or wrong, so your score is driven by breadth of knowledge and by careful reading, especially on true/false items where a single qualifier word can flip the answer.
What SMEI Does Not Publish About Scoring
Candidates often search for details SMEI has not made public. Being clear about those gaps will save you from relying on forum rumors.
- Pass rate: not publicly disclosed. Any specific percentage quoted online for the SMEI CSE is unverified. Our page CSE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows walks through what can and cannot be said responsibly.
- Domain weights: not published. The three headings (Leading as a Salesperson, Leading as a Sales Manager, Leading as a Sales Executive) come from SMEI's preparatory-program modules. They are curriculum headings, not official percentage-weighted exam domains.
- Scaled versus raw scoring: SMEI's current public materials state the 75% threshold but do not describe a scaled-score conversion.
- Unscored items: the materials do not identify whether any questions are unscored.
- Exam-content-outline version: no current numbered outline was published in the official materials reviewed.
Format, Timing, and the Online Proctoring Setup
The SMEI CSE exam is delivered online with approved online proctoring. SMEI's current materials do not name a third-party testing provider. You take the exam from a private space at home or in an office, using a computer or tablet with a webcam. SMEI's materials state that exams are scheduled monthly except August.
Those logistics feed directly into your score because the remote setting introduces risks that have nothing to do with knowledge:
- Environment: a private space is required, so interruptions from colleagues or family can create problems under proctoring.
- Equipment: a working webcam and a reliable connection are part of the requirement; test them before your scheduled session.
- Pacing: at roughly one minute per question, you do not have time to deliberate long on any single item. Flag and move on.
For scheduling specifics, including how monthly sessions and the August gap affect your planning, see CSE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
How the Three Domains Affect Your Score
Since SMEI does not publish weights, think of the three headings as three overlapping lenses on the same body of sales-leadership knowledge. The preparatory course outcomes also touch strategy hierarchy, sales management, sales channels, leadership, ethics, buyer-seller relationships, and information technologies, so expect topics to cut across domain lines. For a full walkthrough, read CSE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Leading as a Salesperson
Focuses on the individual seller's role, including the buyer-seller relationship and ethical conduct in selling.
- Buyer-seller relationships and how they are built and sustained
- Ethics in the sales role
- The individual contributor's place within a broader sales organization
Domain 2: Leading as a Sales Manager
Shifts from personal selling to managing people and channels of selling activity.
- Sales management responsibilities and team leadership
- Sales channels and how they are structured
- Information technologies that support sales operations
Domain 3: Leading as a Sales Executive
Addresses enterprise-level responsibility, tying selling to organizational direction.
- Strategy hierarchy and where sales fits within it
- Executive-level leadership of the sales function
- Ethics and accountability at the top of the sales organization
A practical consequence: candidates who come from a frontline selling background tend to feel comfortable with Domain 1 and exposed in Domain 3. Because the 75% threshold is applied to the exam as a whole, a weak area is not automatically fatal, but with no published weights you cannot know how much damage it will do. The safer plan is to bring your weakest domain up rather than lean on your strongest.
Fees, Application Windows, and the Cost of a Miss
The passing score carries a financial dimension, because falling short means paying and scheduling again. SMEI's current materials show the following:
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| CSE application fee | $500 (includes access to the preparatory course when registering through the application route) |
| Exam registration | $150 |
| Exam registration for Professional Members and Executive Members | $125 |
For a complete picture of what you will spend across application, preparation, and renewal, see CSE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Eligibility also matters before the score ever comes into play. The current application materials state a minimum of 3 years of marketing management experience. The details are covered in CSE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Building a Margin Above the Line
Because the exact scoring treatment is not published, the sensible target is a comfortable cushion over 75% in your practice results rather than a bare pass. Here is one way to sequence preparation around the three domains, using the preparatory course's own structure.
Domain 1 foundation, then diagnostic
- Review buyer-seller relationships and sales ethics
- Take a full-length practice set to see where you actually stand against 75%
Domain 2 management content
- Work through sales management, channels, and information technologies
- Drill true/false items, where qualifiers decide the answer
Domain 3 executive content
- Study strategy hierarchy and executive-level sales leadership
- Spend extra time here if your background is frontline selling
Timed full-length rehearsal
- Practice 180 questions in 3 hours to lock in the one-minute-per-question pace
- Confirm webcam, connection, and private space for proctoring
If you want a deeper, resource-by-resource plan, CSE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt goes further, and How Hard Is the CSE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 helps you judge how much preparation time your background calls for. To test yourself against exam-style items, use the CSE practice test site and track your running percentage against the 75% line.
Key Takeaway
Treat 75% as a floor, not a goal. Practice until timed full-length sets land clearly above it across all three domains, since weights and unscored items are not publicly documented.
After You Pass: Annual Renewal Mechanics
Clearing 75% is the start of a maintenance cycle, not the end. The certification is valid annually and requires an annual renewal application. SMEI's current materials list a $95 base renewal fee, $55 for Professional Members, and no fee for Executive Members. Renewal requires a minimum of 12 documented continuing-education hours per year, or a rewrite of the exam.
That rewrite option is worth understanding: it means the 75% standard can come back into play if you choose not to document continuing education. Most certified professionals will find that logging 12 hours annually is more practical than sitting the 180-question exam again.
If you are weighing whether the credential justifies the ongoing commitment, see Is the CSE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and, for earnings context, CSE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.
Frequently Asked Questions
The passing score is 75%. The exam has 180 multiple-choice or true/false questions and a 3-hour time limit. If all 180 questions are scored, 75% corresponds to 135 correct answers, though SMEI does not publicly state whether every question is scored.
No. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the current SMEI materials reviewed. Be cautious of any specific figure you see quoted elsewhere, since it cannot be tied to an official source.
SMEI's current public materials do not publish percentage weights. Leading as a Salesperson, Leading as a Sales Manager, and Leading as a Sales Executive are preparatory-program module headings, so you should prepare for all three rather than assuming one counts less.
SMEI's current public materials reviewed do not detail a retake policy here, so confirm retake terms and any additional fees directly with SMEI before registering. Exam registration itself is listed at $150, or $125 for Professional and Executive Members.
SMEI's materials conflict on this. The preparatory course page says within 1 year of the application date, while the application page says 6 months with a described 6-month extension. Confirm which rule applies at registration.